C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Tüür, Erkki-Sven: Sow the Wind 



Basic information

  • Title: 
    Sow the Wind
  • Duration (in minutes): 
  • Year of composition: 
  • First performance (year): 
  • First performance (venue): 
    Philharmonie, Paris.
  • First performance (performers): 
    Orchestre de Paris, conductor Paavo Järvi


  • Program notes: 

    For they sow the wind, and they shall reap the whirlwind. Hosea 8-7

    Climatic changes, the massive migration of people, the surge of various extremist movements and several other irreversible processes that increasingly weigh upon our minds are, in many ways, consequences of reckless human activity. In other words, the wind has been sown despite the potential repercussions, and consequently the whirlwind is often reaped by the following generations.

    I created my composition with these thoughts in mind; however, this is by no means a musical narrative of the above events, i.e. a “programmatic symphonic poem“. The development of musical ideas simply follows a slightly similar pattern; small, relatively neutral details start evolving and producing unpredictable twists of events. Their character also transforms as it intensifies, the initial “gusts of wind” growing into veritable “whirlwinds”.

    The underlying material for the composition stems from a sequence of intervals, performed at the very beginning by the clarinets as a repetitive but constantly varying mantra. A thematic chain emerges from this, first performed by the English horn and oboe, and later by the strings. Mutating constantly, this thematic chain shapes the entire following musical architecture. The organically evolving form was also one of my key composition principles in this piece. In contrapuntal motion and harmonic development, I have resorted to the general vectorial guidelines I elaborated already over a decade ago.


    Sow the Wind...


    3333, 4331, Timp + 3, Pianoforte, Strings

    Fp: Orchestre de Paris, conductor Paavo Järvi

    September 20th 2015 Philharmonie, Paris.

    Commissioned by: Orchestre de Paris & Wiener Symphoniker

    Publisher: Edition Peters




Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.