C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Szymula, Olga: Lapses 



Basic information



  • Program notes: 

    An Electro-opera ' Lapses' is an interdisciplinary piece for opera singers, performer and children's choir - with elements of film, choreography and electronic music.
    In "Lapses' Olga Szymula intends to unite fascinations for structures of dreams, the phenomenon of memory and its behaviors and ultra-dramatic gestures.
    The piece is inspired by and constructed from personal, real and unreal memories and dreams of the composer, in the piece, embodied through fictional characters of Lena, a Choir of 6 in Yellow Raincoats, an Emperor, a Man and a Shadow.
    Libretto, in polish, english and danish, consists of fragments of political writings of the composer's father, written between 1994 and 1997 in Poland and reduced to 3- letters words association game. Audio-spacial-visual composition of 'Lapses' becomes a playground of memories and dreams of Lena.

  • Technical specs: 

    Tech rider:
    -HD projector
    -8-channel audio set up (8 speakers are placed around the audience)
    -3 spotlights
    -3 tvs with vhs players (could be transported from Denmark)
    -there is no built scenography, only costumes and 7 pillows that would be brought by participants




Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.