C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Ribeiro, Ricardo: Ostinati 



Basic information



  • Program notes: 

    "Ostinati" (2010) by Ricardo Ribeiro represents a change of direction in the composer´s work: a turn that incorporates previously rejected elements, guided under a greater freedom, in the sense that it suffers less from the denial of material and solutions than from the meeting of musically sufficient ideas in order to create one sound identity. The material found in the origin of the score is, therefore, quite concise.

    Like other works from Ricardo Ribeiro, if the thought associated to the electronic processing is present since the first moment, it is true that the instrumental part lives by itself as an autonomous piece. This phenomenon doesn't work both ways: the electronic is only possible as a factor that improves the original idea, sometimes even recreating it according to the notes which date from the elaboration of the instrumental part.

    The idea that each performance consists in a unique piece is in "Ostinati" taken a step further, since the electronic program was designed with some characteristics of randomness concerning to the degree of microtonality's range and overlapping of elements closer or furthest in time, which can be trigerred in certain sections. The same electronic works as an orchestration of a particella, adding the microtonality and enhancing the timbre.

    The persistence of ideas and gestures is a metaphor of the idea of repetition, a presence that is increasingly evident in the last works of the composer. The repetition that in "Intensités" (2001) happened at the harmonic level, is present in "Ostinati" at a much more immediate level, in the movement, in the heights, in the continous manifestation of strength, which simultaneously transmits serenity. 

    Diana Ferreira (translated by Catarina Janeiro)

    The work was commissioned by Filipe Quaresma and Quinta das Bageiras

    Live-electronics software development by Gilberto Bernardes 

    Premiered (without electronics): Porto, 9 October 2010, Suggia Festival Casa da Música, Filipe Quaresma (cello)



Total number of musicians: 
Musicians1st player2nd player



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.