C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Rhoades, Michael: Reflections and Refractions 



Basic information

  • Title: 
    Reflections and Refractions
  • Composer: 
  • Duration (in minutes): 
  • Year of composition: 
  • First performance (year): 
  • First performance (venue): 
    New York City Electronic Music Festival, USA
  • First performance (performers): 
    electroacoustic music with video


  • Program notes: 

    Completed in June of 2015, Michael Rhoades’s visual music composition Reflections and Refractions is a set of four studies, each from different perspectives, of the same virtual glass sculpture. Further, with the exception of section 3, which is set in “empty space”, the studies all take place in a setting that consists of an 8-sided room with mirrored walls whose floor and ceiling is also made up of 8-sided mirrored surfaces. So we have reflections of the sculpture off the walls being refracted back through the sculpture and then the refractions are further reflected off the walls… back and forth and so on. To add to the chaotically imposed images, the camera moves, the floors and walls move and the sculpture moves… each at varying rates and in varying directions. All told, this creates some very interesting visual effects that we are not accustomed to experiencing in everyday light. The music was intended to further emphasize and accentuate this otherworldly experience. According to the composer, the work "is intended to take the observer out of his or her normal (fixated) reality, if for just a few moments, and as such is intended as an expansion of consciousness. In the end, however, it is all just smoke and mirrors... or… more precisely… glass and mirrors!" Reflections and Refractions was first presented publicly during the 2016 New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival, an important international showcase for both fixed media compositions and live performances involving electronic elements, which was recently awarded a New Music USA Project Grant.

  • Technical specs: 

    A high-res version of the video should be used and the piece is intended for 8.1 audio if it is available.




Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.