C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Rančigaj, Ljubo: Two Concertante Duos 



Basic information

  • Title: 
    Two Concertante Duos
  • Subtitle: 
    for violoncello and piano
  • Composer: 
  • Duration (in minutes): 
  • Year of composition: 
  • First performance (year): 


  • Program notes: 

    In keeping with their title, the two compositions are written on a par with their individually compelling parts. Formally, the first duo (ABA) offers a variational treatment of the piano's evenly moderate movement in semiquavers, wh does not "allow" the violoncello to step in more than three times with a short melodious tune that gradually develops into a variational handling of motivic patterns the performers pass to each other.
    Melodically or rather harmonically, the use of Messiaen' s third mode (out of seven) should be mentioned. The first duo actually does not end in such a way as to be performed independently. Considering its ethereal ending, it is obliged to be followed by the second, in i ts opening contrastingly earnest. While also making use of Messiaen's artificial scales, it forms three contrasting themes which, immediately after having been presented , turn into variations and developments.
    These three subjects can be characterized as being earnest, jocose and melodious. Within their interwoven texture there emerges a toccata-like manner of playing which leads to a persuasive »risoluto« conclusion.



Total number of musicians: 
Musicians1st player2nd player



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.