C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Neal, Kate: What Hath II 



Basic information



  • Program notes: 

    What Hath II is a fully notated percussion quartet that explores and abstracts encoded methods of communication. The ensemble uses sound, light, and movement to explicate patterns derived from binary code, morse code, and semaphore. The aural, visual, and physical fuse together into a common language. Observing and perceiving encrypted information becomes the experience itself – often without the need to decipher or understand what the code is actually communicating. The piece is almost entirely coded, yet it is only at the end of this work that a small part of the encryption is revealed, with the ensemble screaming ‘What Hath God Wrought’ – the first message sent by S. B Morse in 1844. What Hath II is part of a substantial series of works that make up the large-­scale music-­theatre work Semaphore, premiered at Arts House Melbourne, Australia, 2015.

  • Technical specs: 

    Percussion Instruments: (see score for players):
    4 lights, hand activated (can be supplied by the composer)
    7 reception bells
    7 wood blocks
    4 shakers
    2 cabassas
    1 clave
    2 triangles
    1 Kick drum
    1 snare
    4 toms (low and high)
    1 guiro
    15 glass and metal objects
    See performance at



Total number of musicians: 



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.