C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Latecki, Ryszard: HAIKU FROM ROMANIA 



Basic information

  • Title: 
  • Subtitle: 
    intuitive audiovisual composition to Andrei Baciu’s photography, version for 4 improvising musicians
  • Composer: 
  • Duration (in minutes): 
  • Year of composition: 
  • First performance (year): 
  • First performance (venue): 
    Wrocław, National Forum of Music
  • First performance (performers): 
    Szabolcs Esztenyi, Ryszard Latecki, Tadeusz Wielecki, Hubert Zelmer
  • Conductor: 


  • Program notes: 

    This piece was composed by 4 polish Musicians: Szabolcs Esztenyi, Ryszard Latecki,Tadeusz Wielecki and Hubert Zemler.

    Intuitive composition "HAIKU FROM ROMANIA" is a reference to 9 photographs by
    ANDREI BACIU. Performers realizing the following treat photographs as a kind of musical
    score and the subject of inspiration. Interpretation of the meanings of photographs in the
    following scenario is a proposal. Photographs during the performance of a work are placed
    on the easel displayed by reflector and gradually changed. It is allowed to use a different
    way of presenting the photographs, including projector usage.
    The composition consists of 9 music parts.
    Segments are performed attaca. Each of these segments is a compact and not wordy
    miniature lasting approx 6 minutes. Conducting of segments during performance is
    entrusted to the leading performers proposed below.

  • Technical specs: 

    Full duration of the piece is 1h long/9 photograps, but it can be performed in a shorter version as well - for example 4 pieces/photograps only, lasting ca 20min (like in attached files). Estonian Performers are acceptable as well.



Total number of musicians: 
Musicians1st player2nd player
Musicians1st player2nd player
Double Bass



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.