C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Kopecký, Pavel: Reminiscence 



Basic information

  • Title: 
  • Subtitle: 
    for Clarinet and Electronic Sound
  • Composer: 
  • Duration (in minutes): 
  • Year of composition: 
  • First performance (year): 
  • Solo Voice(s)/Instrument(s): 


  • Program notes: 

    Pavel Kopecký (1949) is tenured at the Department of Sound Design at the Film Academy in Prague, he also teaches the basics of electronic music at Jaroslav Ježek Conservatoire. He has been creating electro-acoustic compositions since his student days at the Prague Academy of Music. Besides purely electronic sounds, he has a penchant for using the recorded and sampled sounds of acoustic instruments. As he himself says, this broadens the scope of their timbre and tonal range and allows the artist to work with macrodetails of sound, spatial placement, etc. “A purely electro-acoustic composition coming out of speakers tends to be of less interest to an audience than a composition with live performers. An exception to this is the acousmatic, multichannel rendition of a composition, or its multimedia application.”
    Right from the beginning of his career he has often combined live-performance acoustic instruments with electronic sound. Every concert performance of a work thus becomes unique. The electro-acoustic base in his Reminiscence for Clarinet and Electronic Sound makes exclusive use of clarinet sound samples. The composer wished to harmonise the timbre of both components as much as possible. “During the live performance, the sound of the acoustic instrument is recorded, processed (using tools such as echo, reverb, delay, pitch), and mixed into the two-channel electro-acoustic component. The composition’s form consists of a succession of contrasting, relatively independent, yet motivically connected blocks of music,” Kopecký explains.



Total number of musicians: 
Musicians1st player2nd player
2-channel electronics



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.