C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Khrust, Nikolay: Sonatine for piano solo 



Basic information



  • Program notes: 

    Sonatine (Reliefs) for piano solo

    Sonatine (Reliefs) is based on several ideas. The first one is quasi-serial interrelation between pitch and rhythmic aspects, that is embodied in unified sequences of units (small melismatic notes are excluded from the rhythmic sequences). Those sequenced are changed uniformly in both parameters. Another feature of the work is separate long notes ‘ratooning’ from the main sequence and growing to figures-passages. Appearing of such notes and passages is a new ‘relief’ over the ‘relief’ of the main sequence. Auxilliary ‘reliefs’ are inner (‘accidental’) note durations (staccato — portato), dynamic variety, changing other accidentals, pedal and tempo. All those aspects form new ‘melodies’, modulating the main sequences. Those new ‘reliefs’ become more and more active closer to the end of Sonatine. A foretype of such structure it is possible to find in paintings by Günther Uecker, where color and relief shape different contours, and simultaneously make it different way.

    Nikolay Khrust

  • Technical specs: 

    Standard piano solo setup (concert piano, bench, pianist, enough light for seeing the score)



Total number of musicians: 



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.