C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Jasper & Jasper, : Quakea Quartet 



Basic information



  • Program notes: 

    The first QUAKEA’S were developed in April 2010 and embody the makers’ philosophy of electro-acoustic performance. The construction consists of an iron frame, bicycle tires, a few contact microphones and particular computer software. By not creating any additional typical electronic interfaces beyond the above, the Quakea creates the illusion that all the sounds are produced completely by the instrument itself, while in fact the interaction with the software is made possible by the principle of audio recognition and several other current technologies. The new instruments, still unknown to the public, invite the audience not only to listen, but also to observe with intense inquisitiveness, and to understand what is being presented to them through their senses and their conceptual abilities. In addition to the musical qualities of the performance, there is also humour in the tension between the unknown new and the understanding of the situation.
    Quakea Quartet is written for four different Quakea’s. Their different shapes and sizes, and the elaborate arsenal of playing techniques makes their resemblance to the classical string quartet not entirely coincidental.

  • Technical specs: 

    Although the duo provides an step-by-step manual on how to make the quakeas - thereby embodying the DIY aesthetic of the duo -, Jasper&Jasper are gladly willing to provide all necessary instruments and other equipment (such as electronics, software and contact microphones) for a performance.



Total number of musicians: 
Non standard

This piece is to be performed by four QUAKEAS of different sizes: 'soprano', 'tenore', 'alto' and 'basso'. The firt quakeas were developed by Jasper & Jasper in 2010. The instrument consists of an iron framework, bicycle tires, some contact microphones and a software package that runs in the background. By restricting any other interfaces, sensors or electronic control mechanisms, it creates the illusion that every sound is coming from the instrument itself. The interaction with the computer proceeds by analysing the acoustical sounds in many ways (with the so-called pitch, amplitude, spectrum & duration). The quakeas are played by hand or by milk frother. As their handling is very intuitive, they can be played by musicians from various backgrounds.

For a short presentation on the instruments and their possibilities, visit and



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.