C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Han, Dae Seob: 20Hz for string quartet 



Basic information

  • Title: 
    20Hz for string quartet
  • Composer: 
  • Duration (in minutes): 
  • Year of composition: 
  • First performance (year): 


  • Program notes: 

    Nature is a scientific fact, but is an area of vision, hearing, time, and scale which human beings cannot sense with their abilities.
    As a UK artist duo, Semiconductor observes a nature in a microscopic and aesthetic perspective and recreates authorial imagination and artistic sensitivity by using a modern science technology and digital instrument.
    In their works called ‘20Hz’, they observe a geo-magnetic storm occurring in the Earth’s upper atmosphere and visualize by collecting sound of solar wind which has different frequencies.
    In a string quartet ‘20Hz’ which uses the same title, I want to make an auditory reinterpretation which can create and control by using media work which is directly visualized by sound and another sound system which is string instrument.
    In the process of reinterpreting, different visual wavelength which continuously moves and changes, as auditory movement, complex and complicated acoustic pattern appears. It is suggested that audience explores new phenomenon of time, sound and movement in another observer’s perspective.



Total number of musicians: 
Musicians1st player2nd player



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.