C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Dzenītis, Andris: Trataka.Point Noir  



Basic information

  • Title: 
    Trataka.Point Noir
  • Duration (in minutes): 
  • Year of composition: 
  • First performance (year): 
  • First performance (performers): 
    String Quartet Sinfonietta Riga
  • Publisher: 


  • Program notes: 

    Trataka (in Sanskrit, trāṭaka, to look, or to gaze) is the practice of staring at some external object. It is used
    in yoga as a way of developing concentration, strengthening the eyes, and stimulating the Ajna chakra.
    In its first stage, the practitioner fixes his attention on a symbol or yantra, such as the Om symbol, a black dot, or the
    image of some deity, and stares at it, paying attention to each thought and feeling as it arises, and letting them go, so
    that the mind is completely absorbed in the symbol. (...)
    The second stage is staring at a candle flame. The practice is the same up until the eyes begin to water, after which
    the eyes are closed, and the yogi tries to concentrate on the after image, and hold it for as long as possible. At first, it
    will be a real after-image, but later, it will exist only in the mind's eye, and the exercise in concentration comes from
    trying to maintain it there for a long period of time.
    (...)Trataka on the Sun or one's own mirror image is considered to be extremely powerful, but without a guru's
    assistance it can be dangerous to try these.
    Electrized mind. Unsettled eyes. Wave after wave. Untrue after imaginary true. Mirror inside the mirror. Words,
    syllabes, letters – logical and scattered hanging abowe neglected paths. Silence after the silence. Silence after the
    This piece is probably musicaly contraversal to the roots of it’s yogic description. At the same time it’s one’s try to
    escape endless labyrinths of mind, electrised by truly sick speeds of our time loaded with infinite possibilities of true
    and untrue.
    Basicaly piece is concentration on power of one note (C in the begining, D and G ar the end), naturaly straggling from
    this points for a longer or shorter periods with dominance of chaotic powers. There are (not continuously very strictly)
    combinations of odd numbers 3,5,7 and 9 used to organize rhytmic development of the piece. Sometime numbers
    are very obvious, sometime deeply encoded.
    Andris Dzenītis



Total number of musicians: 
Musicians1st player2nd player



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.