C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Clyne, Anna: Prince of Clouds 



Basic information

  • Title: 
    Prince of Clouds
  • Composer: 
  • Duration (in minutes): 
  • Year of composition: 
  • First performance (year): 
  • First performance (venue): 
    Germantown Performing Arts Center, Germantown TN
  • First performance (performers): 
    Jennifer Koh and Jaime Laredo, solo violins with the IRIS Orchestra conducted by Michael Stern
  • Publisher: 
  • Conductor: 


  • Program notes: 

    Anna Clyne has written the following about Prince of Clouds:

    When writing Prince of Clouds I was contemplating the presence of musical lineage—a family-tree of sorts that passes from generation to generation. This transfer of knowledge and inspiration between generations is a beautiful gift. Composed specifically for Jennifer Koh and her mentor at the Curtis Institute of Music, Jaime Laredo, this thread was in the foreground of my imagination as a dialogue between the soloists and ensemble. As a composer, working with such virtuosic, passionate and unique musicians is also another branch of this musical chain.

    Prince of Clouds was composed at the Hermitage Artist Retreat in Summer 2012. It was co-commissioned by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, IRIS Orchestra, Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra and the Curtis Institute of Music. It was premiered in November 2012 at the Germantown Performing Arts Center, TN with the IRIS Orchestra under the direction of Michael Stern. There have been subsequent performances by the Chicago Symphony at Orchestra Hall at Symphony Center, IL with conductor Harry Bicket and the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra with conductor James Feddeck in UCLA's Royce Hall. In April 2014, Cedille Records issued a CD recording of Prince of Clouds performed by Jennifer Koh and Jaime Laredo with the Curtis Chamber Orchestra conducted by Vinay Parameswaran. Prince of Clouds's West Coast premiere in Los Angeles was funded in part through a New Music USA grant supporting the composer’s travel expenses which offered the musicians face time with the composer. For more information, go to:



Total number of musicians: 
Musicians1st player2nd player
Double Bass



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.