C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Castillo-Olivari, Arcangel: String Quartet No. 1 



Basic information



  • Program notes: 

    The String Quartet #1 is one of his recent compositions and consists of five movements. In each movement the composer explores different compositional techniques and experiments with sound colors. The first movement, Allegro (very energetic), is an ostinato movement based on a twelve note principal motive. The energetic and aggressive mood of this movement is set up from the
    very first moment.
    The second movement, Adagio "Lamentoso", is very dramatic. It can be cast in three main sections. The composer in this movement is mostly concerned with the harmonies and counterpoint. In the first section the opening motive unfolds again from the viola to the violins. The first violin expands the opening motive in a modulatory passage that finally returns to the initial, opening material. The
    second section is influenced by the musical elements of late romanticism and is a homage to Alban Berg. A "quasi musical quotation" of his music opens this section. Ostinato patterns in the second violin, viola and cello underline a new theme played by the first violin. The theme makes its presence in all the other instruments and leads to the third section. In this section the texture is more
    complex and contrapuntal. The lines reach a climax and return to the light texture of the opening.
    The third movement, "Misterioso como la noche" and "Danza Ritual", are minimalistic and try to recreate a Festivity or Ritual Celebration danced late in the night by Indian People in the Amazonic Forest. The composer is exploring a new way to express his thoughts. Archaic modality combines with percussive and natural sounds in creating unique sound colors. The opening serves as an introduction where natural harmonics set up the mysterious atmosphere for the entire movement. The first theme makes its entrance in the cello. The cello melodic arch line ascends in a lydian mode and dies out in mixolydian. A second theme in the first violin speaks out a song.
    Linked to the third movement, Adagio "Nostalgico" means the most to the composer. The colorful scenery with the setting sun on the top of the mountains around the town of Merida, in Venezuela, combines a sequence of orange, red and violet hues. It is a short, tranquil image of his homeland that he reflects with love and nostalgia. The last Fifth movement return to the same musical material of the first movement with the intention of giving to the work a conclusive and brilliant finale.

  • Technical specs: 

    Instrumentation: String Quartet



Total number of musicians: 
Musicians1st player2nd player



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.