C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Young, Nina 




New York-based composer Nina C. Young (b.1984) writes music characterized by an acute sensitivity to tone color, manifested in aural images of vibrant, arresting immediacy. Her experience in the electronic studio informs her acoustic work, which takes as its given not melody and harmony, but sound itself.

Young’s music has garnered international acclaim through performances by the American Composers Orchestra, Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra, Orkest de ereprijs, Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, Argento Chamber Ensemble, Either/Or, JACK Quartet, Sixtrum, and Yarn/Wire. Her works received honors from the ACO, BMI, IAWM, ASCAP/SEAMUS, along with a Charles Ives Scholarship, Martirano Memorial Award, and the Jacob Druckman Prize. Young has been awarded fellowships to the Atlantic and Aspen Music Festivals, and the Tanglewood Music Center.

A graduate of McGill and MIT, Nina is currently pursuing her doctorate at Columbia University, studying with Georg Friedrich Haas, Fred Lerdahl, George Lewis, and Brad Garton. She worked as a research assistant at the MIT Media Lab and CIRMMT and currently teaches electronic music at the Columbia Computer Music Center.



  • Gender: 


Works in ISCM catalogue



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.