C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Yau, May-kay 




Born in Hong Kong, May Kay Yau entered the Hong Kong Academy of Performing Arts at the age of 17. Following that she was awsarded a scholarship to pursue a Masters Degree at the Royal Academy of Music in London. In 2011, she completed her PhD study at the University of Bristol, funded by the ORS and the University Research Studentship. Her teachers include Wing-fai Law, Clarence Mak, Paul Patterson and Geoffrey Poole.
May Kay’s compositions have been performed in various music festivals in China, Hong Kong, Japan, Korea, Israel, Portugal, Greece and UK. She has collaborated with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra, London Sinfonietta, the BBC Singers, National Theatre amongst many others.

Her orchestral piece ‘Alive’ was awarded a Special Prize by the Fondation Francis et Mica Salabert in the “George Enescu International Competition – Edition 2009″ in Romania and her string trio ‘Vernarrtheit’ won the University of Aberdeen Music Prize in 2009. Her commissioned piece ‘Demise of the Cherry Blossoms’ was premiered by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and Russian conductor Vassily Sinaisky in 2010, which received its second performance by the Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra in 2012.
Besides music, May Kay is also a dedicated Russian literature lover.




Works in ISCM catalogue



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.