C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Sousa Rocha, Sofia 




Sofia Sousa Rocha was born in 1986, in Braga - Portugal. She started studying piano at the age of seven, enrolling four years later at the Conservatório de Música Calouste Gulbenkian in Braga. She studied violin with Manuel António Sá. In 2001 she started her first Composition studies with Paulo Bastos at the Conservatory of Braga, where she also studied Electroacoustic Music.

In 2004 she successfully applied to the Escola Superior de Música de Lisboa (ESML) to complete a First Degree in Composition, graduating in 2008, with a mark of 18 (out of 20). She studied with some of the most well recognized Portuguese composers such as Christopher Bochmann, Luís Tinoco, Carlos Caires and Carlos Marecos, among others. In 2012, Sofia Sousa Rocha concluded her masters thesis in composition at ESML under the guidance of Professor António Pinho Vargas.

As a student at ESML Sofia Sousa Rocha co-organized various events, including the concerts Peças Frescas (Student Composers' Concerts), promoting the youngest Portuguese musicians and composers. She also co-directed the 4th and 5th Music Festivals of the ESML at the S. Luiz Theater.

Awarded with the first prize at the Composition Prize of the ESML/Archaeology National Museum (2008) in the Orchestra category, she received commissions from the Young Musicians Prize (Prémio Jovens Músicos, 2008, promoted by Antena 2 – Portuguese Radio Broadcast), the Alcobaça Music Festival (2009) and the Sond’Ar-te Electric Ensemble (2014). Sofia Sousa Rocha has also participated in the 2nd Reading Panel of the Orquestra do Algarve (2008), in the 7th Workshop of the Gulbenkian Orchestra for Young Portuguese Composers (2008). Ricercare Choir and Sinfonietta Orchestra performed her works at the Young Portuguese Composers concerts (2009 and 2010) and she received commission of the Portuguese Opera House, Teatro Nacional de São Carlos, to compose Inês morre (2011-12), a chamber opera with libretto by Miguel Jesus, music direction by João Paulo Santos and stage direction by Luís Miguel Cintra.

Recently, Sofia Sousa Rocha has participated in Atelier for Young Composers with the Orquestra Clássica do Sul, under the direction of Cesário Costa and guidance of António Pinho Vargas (March 2014).




Works in ISCM catalogue



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.