C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Nørholm, Ib 





Ib Nørholm is a Danish composer, who was born in Søborg, Denmark. Already at the age of 18 he composed the chamber opera “Sneglen og Rosenhækken” (1949) after H.C. Andersen’s fairy-tale. The following year he began studying with Vagn Holmboe at The Royal Danish Conservatoire. Later he became teacher and professor in composition and also critic at several newspapers.

Nørholm followed the tradition from Carl Nielsen and Vagn Holmboe as well as new international streams. Through the late 1950s and early 60s he tested other composition techniques: From a systematic construction (the so called serialism) in “Tabeltrioen” (1959) to a more freely sketching course (graphic scores) in “Relief II” (1963). He also experimented with the use of non-musical instruments such as mechanic toys in “Direction: inconnue for soloviolin” (1964). Later his works took on a more economical approach, often characterised by the term 'new simplicity'.

Nørholm has written twelve symphonies. They all have an epic-dramatic character which is hinted in their titles, for example: “Symphony no. 3 - Day’s Nightmare” (1973), “Symphony no. 5 - The Elements” (1980) and “Symphony no. 6 -Moralities” (1981).

Alongside this, he unfold a lyric elegance in a series of works attached to Danish poetry from early songs for choir to lyrics of poets like Oehlenschläger and Halfdan Rasmussen. He combines the tradition of Danish Romanticism with a rich use of modern expressions.

He got awarded with the Carl Nielsen Prize in 1971. 



  • Gender: 


Works in ISCM catalogue



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.