C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Mrkvička, Luboš 




Since 2006, the Czech composer Lubos Mrkvicka (*18 December 1978) has been a lecturer at the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague (HAMU), where he teaches composition and lectures courses focused on compositional techniques of 20th and 21st century music. He has taught composition at New York University Prague since 2006. After three years of studies at the Prague Conservatoire with professor Bohuslav Řehor, he studied with professor Milan Slavický and professor Marek Kopelent at HAMU, where he received his Ph.D. in 2009. Besides many workshops and compositional courses, he completed a scholarship at the Royal College of Music in London with professor David Sawer.

His compositions, all of which are exclusively instrumental, ranges from solo pieces and small instrumental groups to large ensembles and orchestras. His music is stylistically based on the structuralist and constructivist avant-garde of the second half of the 20th century. His compositions have been performed by leading Czech ensembles specialized in contemporary music (Brno Contemporary Orchestra, Berg Orchestra, MoEns) as well as world-famous ensembles and performers (Klangforum Wien, Xasax Saxophone Quartet, Ian Pace). In 2019 his piece For Large Ensemble, Part D commissioned by the Prague Spring festival and premiered by Klangforum Wien and Bas Wiegers won the “Trochu nižší C4” Award (the best piece composed by a Czech composer in 2018).



  • Gender: 


Works in ISCM catalogue



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.