C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Hui, Tak-cheung 




HUI, Tak-Cheung is a Hong Kong-born composer. Over the course of his career, Hui has been awarded numerous prizes include 1st prize of Leibniz Harmonien International Composition Competition, Atlas Ensemble Composition Competition 2014, Sound Icon BU/SI Composition Competition 2015 and Inter-Sections Fellowship with commission prize. His recent collaborations include 10/10 Ensemble at the Huddersfield Cotemporary Music Festival, Nieuw Ensemble at the Muziekgebouw aan’t IJ’s An Evening of Today, Looptail Ensemble at the Gaudeamus Muziekweeks and MDI ensemble at the Composit Music Festival. He was also the residence composer of the Ligeti Academy by Asko Schoenberg in 2011 and European Composers’ Professional Development Programme by HCMF in 2012.

Hui started self-learning guitar and played in a rock band before he started his formal education of music at Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts and completed his masters’ degree in Composition at Conservatorium van Amsterdam. During his academic years, he was awarded the Heng Seng Bank Scholarship and The Lions Music Foundation Scholarship. Currently, he was given a fellowship from Boston University Center for New Music to pursue a Doctoral degree under the supervision of Alex Mincek and Joshua Fineberg.

Hui’s compositions range from a variety of solo instrumental music to orchestral works, small and large ensemble music for western or traditional music, as well as multi-media work and Chinese Opera arrangement. His works have been published by Huddersfield Contemporary Record and Hove Record.




Works in ISCM catalogue



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.