C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Hilli, Sebastian 




Sebastian Hilli was born in Helsinki, Finland in 1990. After obtaining his Bachelor’s degree in composition in 2013 with Lauri Kilpiö at the Sibelius Academy, he spent a year at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna with prof. Michael Jarrell as his teacher. Currently he is finishing his Master’s degree in composition with prof. Veli-Matti Puumala at the Sibelius Academy. Hilli has also participated different workshops and master classes e.g. with the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra and composition with e.g. Jukka Tiensuu, Jouni Kaipainen, Hans Abrahamsen and Mark Andre.
His works have been performed both in Finland and abroad, including Oslo, Vienna, New York, Tokyo, Copenhagen, Esbjerg, Dresden, Freiburg and Helsinki at various festivals such as Avanti! Summer Sounds, Time of music festival, Korvat auki 35 festival, Mise-en music festival, UNM festivals and Klang concert series in Helsinki. Ensembles such as Avanti!, Zagros, Curious Chamber Players, Esbjerg Ensemble, Cikada, Ensemble Mise-en, Ensemble Recherche and Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra have played his music.
Hilli’s works consist mainly of chamber music for different set-ups. In his music a vide use of various instrumental colours and techniques play an important part of the composition. Also a thorough way of sketching and structuring the music and working with several parameters are characteristic for his way of composing.
Hilli won the 1st prize of the Toru Takemitsu Composition Award 2015 with his work Reachings for orchestra. The Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra premiered the composition in Tokyo, Japan.
The judge of the composition, composer Kaija Saariaho, commented Hilli’s work as follows:
”Reachings struck me by its determined sense of formal plan and its realization. The music is directional, yet surprising. An intense concentration is carrying the music through the work. The music has an urge to advance, but it is done under a control so that the musical energy is well balanced, and the music breathes naturally.The range of different musical characters is large and emotionally fulfilling. The fresh quality of music reaches the very end of the piece. The orchestration is effective throughout and the score enjoyable to read in its clarity.”




Works in ISCM catalogue



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.