C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Haapamäki, Sampo 




Sampo Haapamäki (b. 1979) has composed chamber music, vocal music, electronic music, concertos, and orchestral music. Haapamäki had composition recitals in the Musica nova Helsinki festival in 2006 and at Scandinavia House in New York City in 2015. He was the Tapiola Sinfonietta's Composer-in-Residence for the season 2011-12.
Haapamäki studied composition at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki with Tapio Nevanlinna (1998-2002) and Veli-Matti Puumala (2002-05), graduating with a Master's of Music in 2005. In the winter semester of 2006-07 he studied with Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater Leipzig. Haapamäki studied composition with Tristan Murail (2005-06, 2007-09) at Columbia University in New York City, where he received his Doctor of Musical Arts in 2012. He took part in a composition and music technology course, Cursus, at IRCAM in Paris, with Grégoire Lorieux as his tutor, during the academic year 2012-13. Nowadays Haapamäki lives in Helsinki.
Haapamäki has been involved in the development of new quarter-tone instruments. These instruments are the quarter-tone accordion of Veli Kujala (invented by Kujala and made by Pigini), the quarter-tone guitar of Juuso Nieminen (made by Keijo Korelin), and the quarter-tone piano of Elisa Järvi and Sampo Haapamäki (invented by Järvi & Haapamäki and made by Otso Haapamäki). These instruments aim to have as wide a quarter-tone register as possible (24 notes per octave), to be ergonomic, and to produce a genuine acoustic sound. Sampo Haapamäki has written two works using quarter-tone instruments. The quarter-tone accordion concerto Velinikka (2008) was a commission from the Gaudeamus Muziekweek and is dedicated to Veli Kujala; the double concerto Conception (2012) for quarter-tone guitar, quarter-tone accordion and orchestra is dedicated to Veli Kujala and Juuso Nieminen, and was commissioned by the Tapiola Sinfonietta.
Sampo Haapamäki has received the Gaudeamus International Composers Award 2004 in Amsterdam, and the International Society of Contemporary Music (ISCM) - Young Composer Award 2005 in Zagreb. In 2006 he was granted the Teosto prize by Copyright Society Teosto in Helsinki. He was also a finalist at the Queen Elisabeth Competition for Composition in Brussels 2003. Haapamäki is a member of Ears Open Society, Columbia Composers, and Society of Finnish Composers.



ISCM Young Composer Award


Works in ISCM catalogue



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.