C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Chow, JunYi 




Born and raised in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, JunYi Chow began studying piano and music theory at the age of 5. He gained admittance into Central Conservatory of Music in Beijing in 2005 and there studied with WenChen Qin, Gang Chen and JianPing Tang. After graduation in 2011, Chow began a master’s degree program in the U.S. at Indiana University, Jacobs School of Music, completing it in May 2013 as a student of P.Q. Phan. Chow’s music has been performed in many places including Malaysia, Singapore, China, Taiwan, the United States, and Canada.

In July 2010, Chow received sponsorship from the Goethe Institute of Malaysia to attend the 45th Darmstadt International Summer Course for New Music in Darmstadt, Germany. In December 2010, his first symphonic work Getaran was commissioned and premiered by the Malaysian Philharmonic Youth Orchestra, and was performed in “Past & Present” –a concert that toured Kuantan, Penang and Kuala Lumpur. In May 2011, Chow’s ensemble piece A Night without Voices was performed in the concert “Malaysian Voices,” curated by the Malaysian composer Kee Yong Chong and presented by New Music Concerts in Toronto, Canada. In October 2012, Chow presented his composition recital in fulfillment of his master’s degree at the University of Indiana in Bloomington.

Chow is currently composing and working in New York City.



Works in ISCM catalogue



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.