C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Chen, Musheng 




Musheng Chen was born in 1971 in the province of Zhejiang in the south east of China. Today he is considered as one of the most remarkable Chinese composers of his generation. Chen Musheng had an upbringing under the influence of both eastern and western cultures. From 1993 to 1998, he studied composition in the Shanghai Conservatory of Music. In 2000, he went to Europe to further his studies in the Conservatory of Geneva, studying composition under Professor Eric Gaudibert. In the same year, he also attended the master class hosted by the composition maestro Klaus Huber in Lugano, Switzerland.From September 2006 onwards Musheng will be teaching at the Shanghai Conservatory of Music. He is professor and director of the Harmony Section in the composition department.
The Chinese culture and heritage had a compelling influence in the music composition of Chen Musheng. Inspired by the traditional Chinese kunqu opera, The Peony Pavilion, he wrote a symphonic tone poem A Dream in the Peony Garden. The tone poem had its premiere in 2007 in the Berlin Concert Hall performed by the Chinese-German Youth Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Tang Muhai. Subsequently it had also been performed by the BBC Symphony Orchestra, The Hamburg Symphony Orchestra and the Shanghai Philharmonic in Europe and China and received high acclaims. Based on musical source ideas from Yunnan folk music, he wrote his Yunnan Capriccio piano concerto. This piano concerto won him a finalist prize in composition in the 2007 Belgian Queen Elizabeth International Music Competition. It had since been successfully performed in the Opera de Tour in France and the National Centre for The Performing Arts in Beijing, China. Another notable composition, The Ch’an I, II and III Suite, was based on inspirations from Zen Buddhism. It was comparatively a larger in scale and in structure composition written in his European academic years and had its premiere in the Concert Hall of Bern Radio, Switzerland. Chen Musheng’s other significant compositions include The Veils of the Memory (2008, commissioned by The Berlin Philharmonic; Splendid Overture (2008, commissioned by The Shanghai Grand Theatre to commemorate its tenth-year opening anniversary; Chamber Concerto (2002-04) premiered at the Festival Archipel in Switzerland. Les franges du Rêve won first grand prize in the Concours Dutilleux Composition in France,the committee was presided by Henri Dutilleux and Christoph Eschenbach ; Dream Variation I won first prize in the Spanish Ciutat di Tarragona Competition and premiered in 2008 by the Barcelona Symphony Orchestra; Dream Variation II won the first Grand Prize from the Dimitri Mitropoulos International Composition and premiered in 2009 by The Orchestra of Colors, Greece; West Lake Symphonic Suite(commissioned by the Zhejiang Symphony Orchestra in 2009), First Cello Concerto (2011-2013, commissioned by the ProHelvetia, Switzerland.)
His some scores publish by the Alphonse Leduc Editions in Paris.



  • Gender: 


Works in ISCM catalogue



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.