C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface



ISCM Irish Section report 2010

In 2010 our activities broke down (in order of prominence / time allocated) into (i) composer development projects, (ii) ISCM links, (iii) general information flow and (iv) representation/lobbying.

In 2010 We attracted funding from IMRO (the Irish Music Rights Organisation) and the Arts Council. In 2010 IMRO granted us €5000 for running costs and the Arts Council granted us €6000 towards a composer development project to run in the first half of 2011.

We continue our important ISCM role which saw John McLachlan attend the World Music Days 2010 in Australia, where Jane O’Leary’s Riverrun for sax quartet represented Ireland. We also organised the national submission for the 2011 festival in Croatia.

Another ISCM-related activity organised by the section was a presentation and concert in the Transit 2010 festival in Leuven, Belgium. Irish pianist Mary Dullea played a short programme of Irish piano music and Eve O’Kelly presented a talk on Irish composition. The audience was professionals working in the new music field in Flanders, Belgium. The piano programme was Siobhan Cleary Chaconne, Linda Buckley jöklar, David Fennessy The first thing, the last thing and everything in between and Simon Mawhinney Batu

Information flow: we continued to provide e-shots to members on composition competitions and opportunities that are sent to us through our international networks. Representation / lobbying: this comes primarily through our membership of ECF and AARO, and also we are still called on by the Arts Council to give client feedback from time to time.




Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.