C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface



The 2009 Annual Report of ISCM Korean Section

Professor Inho Park, the president of ISCM Korea, was awarded the 27th Korean National Composers’ Prize with Grand prix and the Composition Prize of the 3rd Daewon Music Award hosted by the Daewon Cultural Foundation. Sukhi Kang who is honorary member of ISCM and Unsuk Chin had received the two previous Daewon Composition Prizes.

The 16th Seoul International Computer Music Festival 2009 was held from November 29th to December 3rd in the Jayu Theater of Seoul Arts Center. About 150 pieces from all over the world had entered, and the selected 32 were performed by GRAME. Not only did the members of GRAME participate in the concert, but also delivered speeches on various topics. Pierre Alain Jaffrennou and Andre Bartetzki each gave an address on GRAME and Mixed Music, and Spatialization techniques with SuperCollider. On the opening performance of November 29, multimedia art—audiovisual media, audiovisual performance, dancing, and digital instruments—were the highlights. Such novel attempts portrayed the interest of many composers and their various adaptations. As the finale of the Music Festival, director Pierre Alain Jaffrennou and technician Max Bruckert of GRAME had introduced the music of Pierre Alain Jaffrennou, Kaija Saariaho, Philippe Leroux to the Korean audience.

The 37th Pan Music Festival 2009 was held from October 27th to 31st at the Recital Hall of Seoul Arts Center. The Pan Festival Ensemble, which was founded exclusively for the Pan Music Festival, Aura, the gayageum (Korean harp) ensemble, and Ensemble Orchestral Contemporain of France Lyon were invited to the festival. For the Solo Exhibition, violist Erwan Richat, trombonist Unseong Kim, and pianist Sejung Chang were invited. The groups and soloists above had played a total of 29 pieces especially selected by the ISCM Korean Section and the players themselves. Between the two big and small performances, Ensemble Orchestral Contemporain had brought about the music of Korean composers and French such as Tristan Murail, Hugues Dufourt, Marc-André Dalbavie, Pierre Boulez. Aura, the gayageum ensemble of, had mostly performed the music of Korean composers such as Jiesun Lim, Hyoshin Na, Cecilia Heejeong Kim.




Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.