C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface



18th International Review of Composers

Belgrade, November 13-16, 2009




Subject *



The proposed compositions can belong to any of the following categories


Soloist: piano, unaccompanied clarinet, violin, cello, double bass (exclusively the said instruments)

Chamber: voice and flute, string trio (vn, vla, vc), wind trio (ob, cl, fg)

               piano trio (vn, vc, pf), string quartet (vn1, vn2, vla, vc)    

               wind quintet (fl, ob, cl, cor, fg)

               combinations of the above ensembles are not possible


Chamber string orchestra (5,4,3,2,1), optional solo violin

Symphony orchestra: with or without soloist; the soloist may exclusively be the piano

               Each category may include electronics and/or video


Duration: 5-12 minutes


The proposed compositions must be no more than three years old

Proposals should be accompanied by the score, and if possible, recording

Proposals can be submitted by individual composers, performers, composers societies and national associations

It is the obligation of composers whose works are selected to provide performing materials (score, parts, recordings where applicable)

We also welcome suggestions for accompanying programs, such as panel discussions on various subjects, symposia, presentations of various works…


Deadline for submission: June 1, 2009.


The subject of the Review and the choice of instruments and ensembles have been determined by the anniversaries of two great Serbian composers, Ljubica Marić (a centenary of birth) and Vasilije Mokranjac (25th  anniversary of death)


You can send your proposals by email (in PDF format) or by post.


Address for entries/information:

Composers' Association of Serbia

Misarska 12 - 14

11000 Belgrade, Serbia



Contact persons: Ivana Trisic, president;

                           Katarina Lazarevic, executive secretary





International Review of Composers was initiated in 1992 by the Serbian Composers Association. During the first two years it was hosted by the cities of Sremski Karlovci and Novi Sad, and in 1994 it was relocated to Belgrade.

It is held in the second half of November and lasts five days. It generally features 10-12 concerts, along with other events: meetings with composers, presentations of music periodicals, editions of scores, CDs, panel discussions, workshops etc.


The principal part of the Review consists of works created over the preceeding three years and selected by the jury. However, the Review spans a wider time period, as it generally features concerts devoted to music of various countries, concerts of anthological works, programs proposed by renowned soloists and ensembles…


The 17 years of Review’s history coincide with an extremely complex period in the history of Serbia: the transition from one-party to multi-party system, from the country known as the Socialist Federative Republic of Yugoslavia to the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, the Union State of Serbia and Montenegro, finaly to the Republic of Serbia; from socialism to market capitalism; through the challenges of wars, isolation, sanctions, bombing, protests, coping with extreme circumstances. This not with standing, the Review has presented 780 compositions by 460 composers, performed by more than 300 soloists, 6 orchestras, 4 choirs and 36 chamber ensemberls.

The symphonic works of Louis Andriessen, Pohjola Seppo, Giacinto Scelsi, Jarmo Sermilä, Shiozaki Miyuki have been performed at the Review of Composers, alongside a number of chamber and solo works of various authors among which the most eminent were Salvatore Sciarrino, Naoko Hishinuma, Philippe Manoury, Lojze Lebič, Zygmunt Krauze, Michel Van der Aa, Ian Wilson, Ada Gentile, Vladimir Scolnic, etc.


The regular participants are the Belgrade Philharmonic Orchestra, Symphony Orchestra and Choir of the Serbian Broadcasting System, Belgrade Strings, St. George Strings, Women’s Choir "Collegium Musicum" and numerous chamber ensembles.

Regarding the international performers, we would like to mention French ensembles Alternance and Accroche Note, the pianist Joanna MacGregor, The Kreutcher Quartett, Ensemble Ultramarine from the Great Britain, the conductor Jürg Wyttenbach and the ensemble Opera Nova from Switzerland, The Chaosma Ensemble and  MusicFabrik from Germany, Croatian string quartet Rucner, trio Slavko Osterc from Slovenia, ensemble Acrobat from Austria, conductors Roman Rewakowicz (Poland), Hanu Lintu (Finland), clarinettist Guido Arbonelli (Italy), pianist Raymonda Scheinfeld (Israel), etc.


The permanent partners of  the International  Review  of Composers are Ministry of Culture Republic of Serbia, Assembly of the City of Belgrade, Sokoj - agency for the protection of the authors rights and Jugokoncert - the Belgrade concert agency.




Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.