C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface



ISCM Irish Section Report 2009

In 2009, the main activities were concert promotion and web development. We attracted funding from the Arts Council, IMRO (the Irish Music Rights Organisation) and Culture Ireland, and this allowed us to improve members’ services and to promote living composers in four concerts and a workshop. 2009 saw the completion of our re-developed web site. It stays at but with improved, interactive, member-friendly design features.

We held four concerts: one in Vitasaari, Finland and three in Dublin. The ConTempo quartet (Romanian but resident in Ireland for many years), promoted Irish works in the Time of Music Festival Finland. We hosted Greek-German pianist Andreas Skouras for two concerts focusing on music from Munich. We held a very successful composers’ workshop in November where the RIAM Percussion Ensemble workshopped and then performed 5 works by Irish composers, at the National Concert Hall. We have continued with our usual lobbying activities, which in the last 3 years have included being active in the newly-founded European Composers’ Forum. Networking in Glasgow and Sweden was directed towards possible future international concert exchanges.

Irish composition was heard at the 2009 World Music Days, hosted by Sweden. Gráinne Mulvey’s Stabat Mater received a very good performance by the DR Vokalensemblet.

The composers who were performed in our events in 2009 were: Donnacha Dennehy, Jane O’Leary, Rob Canning, Jennifer Walshe, Grainne Mulvey, Rhona Clarke, John McLachlan,. Fredrik Schwenk, Frank Corcoran, Hans Jürgen von Bose, Ian Wilson, Michael Bastian Weiß, Volker Nickel, Minas Borboudakis, Fergus Johnston, Nikolaus Brass, Wolfgang von Schweinitz, Francis Heery, Jerome de Bromhead, Rob Casey and Amanda Feery. Composers selected for Ireland national submission to the ISCM 2010 festival (Sydney) were: Deirdre McKay John Buckley Karen Power Rob Canning Jane O’Leary and Rhona Clarke.




Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.