C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface




During the last year the Belgian ISCM-Section spent a lot of time and energy to find a solution for its survival in the national context. Although Belgium is still subsisting as a national federal state, the subdivision of the country into two cultural entities with their own government (the Flemish and the Francophone) had as a consequence that on the national level there did'nt exist a Ministry of Culture to which a national section could direct any application for a subvention in cultural matters.
Finally it was decided from both sides to split up the national section into two independant associated-member sections : ISCM-Flanders and SIMC Wallonie.
On the flemish side the reorganisation went very quickly and a well- structured new body came to life. On the francophone side it will take a bit more time but there is also the firm determination to build a new associated-member section.

Apart from the section's particular problems , there was quite a lot of activities in the field of new music.

The well-known international "Ars Musica"-festival took place from 9 to 25 March 2006. In 25 concerts about 38 composers came to word with a large surview of works by Philippe Boesmans (70th birthday), Helmut Lachenmann (70th birthday), Peter Eötvös and Matthias Pintscher. Other composers represented by several works were Wolfgang Rihm, Salvatore Sciarrino, Gérard Grisey, Heinz Holliger, Bruno Mantovani. As Belgian composers were premiered : Boesmans, Laporte, Bosse, Bartholomée, Ledoux, Fourgon, Fafchamps.
The following ensembles performed the extremely rich and varied program: Quartets Minguet, Arditti, Diotima, Danel; ensembles Musiques Nouvelles, Klangforum Wien, Ictus, Contrechamps, Prometheus, Remix, London Sinfonietta, Musikfabrik; the orchestras: Orchestre National de Lille, Orchestre Symphonique de la Monnaie, SWR Sinfonieorchester, Koninklijk Concertgebouworkest A'dam.
Within the framework of the festival several workshops were devoted to and lead by B.Mantovani, H.Lachenmann, Ph.Boesmans, M.Levinas, a.o. All concerts attracted a large from year to year increasing public.
In Louvain the yearly Transit -New Music Festival was held from 30 Sept.- 2 Oct. 2005. It brought new works by the following flemish composers: Filip Rathé, Annelies Van Parys, Maarten Buyl, Martin Valcke, Claude Coppens, G.W.Raes, Peter Swinnen . Performers were the Ensembles Recherche, Champ d'Action, Logos, Goeyvaerts String Trio and different soloists.

From 15-20 november 2005 NOVEMBER MUSIC organised concerts in 's-Hertogenbosch, Gent, Bochum, Dortmund, Essen, Herne with works by a.o. Luc Brewaeys, Frank Nuyts and Rudy Trouvé.

The Group "Musiques & Recherches" (directed by Annette Vande Gorne),specialised in electronic media, was very active too with several concerts and meetings all over the year and with the 12th Festival Acousmatique International (theme: l'Espace du Son) in Brussels Marni Theatre (20-23 Oct.2005)

In the framework of Flanders Festival -Antwerp a [email protected] was held devoted to sacred music by this years curator Jonathan Harvey, bringing new works by Wim Henderickx, Annelies Van Parijs, Paul Craenen among works from the international repertoire (J.Harvey, J.Cage, St.Reich, Kh.Stockhausen, G. Scelsi and the opera "Hildegard" by James Wood).

The different new music ensembles (Spectra, Champ d'Action, Ictus, Het Collectief, Prometheus, Emanon, I Solisti del Vento) and soloists brought their own concert series in Flanders and Wallonia with a huge lot of first performances before an interested public assistance

I.S.C.M.- BELGIUM André Laporte,chairman Tel.00-32-16-47.13.76 
International Society Fax.00-32-16-48.72.32
for Contemporary Music 
Belgian Section
Langeheide 22 




Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.