C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface



Every two years the Slovenian Section of Contemporary Music (ISCM) prepares and organizes the International Festival of Contemporary Music UNICUM. These festivities are a continuation of the traditions of the International Festival Musica Danubiana which started its activities in 1998. 

The first International Festival of Contemporary Music UNICUM took place in 2004 from October 1 to October 9 and the second will be from October 17 to October 26, 2006. Most of the concerts are scheduled in Ljubljana - the capital of Slovenia while three concerts will be in three smaller Slovenian towns like Murska Sobota, Celje and Novo mesto. The festival offers many premiere performances of both national and international composers. This year the performing artists are: Louise Sibourd from France, Ensemble SLOWIND, Trio Barocco Forte, Big Band of the Slovenian National Radio and Television Station, Ensemble for Contemporary Music MD7, the piano duo Miha Haas and Tadey Horvat, Ensemble for new music ANGAG and the Symphonic Orchestra of the Slovenian National Radio and Television Station. UNICUM will be organized in cooperation with the Italian Festival of Contemporary Music "Trieste Prima" and other institutions. 
One of the main goals of the UNICUM International Festival is to open its doors - both to the inside and the outside. The future aims of the festival are to give more emphasis on scene projects (chamber operas and dance). In general, it will stick to its original programme concept of chamber compositions with preference to smaller ensembles looking for new sounds. 

Already the former international festival Musica Danubiana has brought together composers from Slovenia and abroad. UNICUM will stick to this policy also in future. 
Internal demands of the Musica Danubiana festival had called for a larger festival ensemble which shortly after its foundation offered a successful debut performance in Vienna. Later the number of musicians constituating this group got smaller, seven in total, and thus the Ensemble MD7 was born. The specific instrumentational character of the ensemble (flute, clarinet, trombone, piano, percussions, viola, violoncello) enabled an artistic repertoire which to equal parts shares compositions created by Slovene composers and composers from almost all parts of the world. Thus, the ensemble very successfully premiered compositions which were created by the following composers just for them: François Bousch (France), Giampaolo Coral (Italy), Sorin Lerescu (Romania), Stefano Bonetti (Italy), Jean-Luc Darbelley (Switzerland), Lars Graugaard (Denmark), Harry Crowl (Brazil). This year MD7 will present premiere performances of compositions written by authors like Andrian Pertout (Australia), Chan Wing Wah (Hong Kong), Martin Marek (Czeck Republic), and Corrado Rojac (Italy). New compositions for MD7 have also been written by Slovene composers like Ivo Petrić, Jani Golob, Nenad First, Peter Savli and Pavel Mihelčič who is the founder and artistic director of the ensemble.

Pavel Mihelčič
ISCM Slovene section




Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.