C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface



The Finnish ISCM section organized the third Uussävel (NewTune) Competition during the Lahti Organ festival in August 2005. The prize sum of 10.000 euros was shared by the five finalists following the public voting, with Canzon by Johannes Vesterinen as the winning piece.

The Society of Finnish Composer celebrated its 60th anniversary in October 2005 with a series of concerts devoted for Finnish contemporary music.
In the same event, the Madetoja Prize was given to Seppo Kimanen, the founder of the Kuhmo Chamber Music Festival for his outstanding contribution to promotion of Finnish music.

Following the tradition, composer exchanges were realized between Slovenia, Poland, and Hungary.

The Nordic Composers' Council held its summer meeting in the Luosto, Lapland, where the Luosto-Symphony of Kalevi Aho received its second outdoor performance, with the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra and Lappish Chamber Orchestra playing in the mountain slope, conducted by John Storgårds.

In May 2005 Tapio Tuomela participated with the Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble in Diaghilev Seasons Festival (Perm) and Asia-Europe Festival (Kazan) with lectures and performances of Finnish contemporary music.

The Finnish composer Sampo Haapamäki won the ISCM-CASH Young Composer Award 2005 during the ISCM World Music Days in Zagreb.

Report: Tapio Tuomela




Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.