C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface



(autumn 2004 � spring 2005)

The main aim of the ISCM Romanian Section is to promote the Romanian contemporary music in Romania and abroad through fruitful contacts with Romanian institutions, foundations, associations, organizations, and ISCM National Sections.

The Executive Committee of the ISCM Romanian Section - elected on June 4, 2003 - includes composers Sorin Lerescu (President), Doina Rotaru, Irinel Anghel, George Balint and Dan Dediu.

Composers Cornelia Tăutu, Valentin Petculescu, Cristian Lolea, Cătălin Creţu have recently joined the ISCM Romanian Section.

The ISCM Romanian Section is a branch of the Union of Romanian Composers and Musicologists, which is the main sponsor of our organization.

In terms of musical projects, the ISCM Romanian Section mainly collaborates with the Romanian Ministry of Culture and ARCUB � The Cultural Project of the City Hall of Bucharest.

Other important partners are: The Romanian Radio Broadcasting Society, TVR Cultural, TvRM, ARFA, "George Enescu" National Museum in Bucharest, as well as foreign cultural organizations and institutions in Bucharest: Swiss Culture Programme Romania PRO HELVETIA/SDC, Goethe Institut Inter Nationes Bukarest, British Council, Institut Français de Bucarest, Instytut Polski, Istituto Italiano di Cultura, Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

We also maintain good relations with several organizations from abroad, such as: Gaudeamus Foundation, Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung München, Monash University (Australia), Huddersfield University (Great Britain), City of Reykjavik, The Icelandic Ministry of Culture and Education.

The ISCM Romanian Section has a very good cooperation with ARFA (Romanian Association of Women in Arts, led by Mihaela Vosganian), an Associate Member of ISCM, in their effort to promote the Romanian new music in Romania and abroad. Concerts, performances and debates on the contemporary music are periodically organized by the ISCM Romanian Section and ARFA.

It is also worth mentioning the good partnership between the ISCM Romanian Section and Radio Romania Muzical "George Enescu", composer Doina Rotaru, member of the Executive Committee of the ISCM Romanian Section, having been invited to several broadcastings of Radio Romania to speak about different musical cultures represented by the National Sections of ISCM. In the same context, Carmen Cârneci, delegate of the ISCM Romanian Section, participated in the Meeting of the Balkan Contemporary Music Information Centres, organized in Tirana, Albania (9-12 December 2003) by the Albanian Section of the ISCM.

Works by Irinel Anghel and Mihaela Vosganian were included in the ISCM program World New Music Days, organized in Switzerland in November 2004. The ISCM Romanian Section was represented by Sorin Lerescu, president, and composers Mihaela Vosganian and Irinel Anghel.

In the autumn of 2004, several contemporary music festivals were organized in Romania by the ISCM Romanian Section members: Dan Dediu: Profil Contemporary Chamber Music Festival (Bucharest), Mihaela Vosganian and Irinel Anghel: MultiSonicFest (Trans-Fusion Kontakt) (Bucharest), Liviu Dănceanu: Archaeus International Festival (Bucharest), Iancu Dumitrescu, Ana Maria Avram, Fred Popovici: Musica Nova (Ploieşti).

The next two issues (nos. 3 and 4) of the Contemporary Music - Romanian Newsletter, edited by the ISCM Romanian Section and CMIC (Contemporary Music Information Centre) and financed by UCMR (Union of the Romanian Composers and Musicologists), which will be reflecting the musical activities of the ISCM Romanian Section members, are about to be printed.

Sorin Lerescu, President




Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.