C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface



In December, the Board of the Chilean ISCM Section ended its second term of two years. Last January the former Board was reelected for a new term of two years. The names of the current Board are Rolando Cori, president; Oscar Carmona, secretary; Cecilia Cordero, treasurer; Carlos Zamora and Jorge Springinsfeld, counselors. The Section will continue with the projects and activities of the last year.

The publication of two CDs "Música Coral Chilena" are among the activities organized in these four years by the present Board. These new recordings add to a collection of 8 volumes of Chilean contemporary music published by the Section in the last 10 years which include solo pieces, chamber, symphonic, electronic and electro-acoustic works.

Among the activities for this year, the Chilean Section is developing a platform for discussion and critical debate about Chilean music and contemporary music (past, present and future of the music in Chile, the role of the composer today, the new technologies, popular music, ethnical music, cultural themes, etc); The publication of a contemporary music magazine with articles, discussion, points of view, information, interviews, profiles, CD reviews, festival reports, music analysis, etc is also included in our near future projects.

The Chilean Section has been called to participate in the new "institutionalization of culture" significantly dismantled during the military regime in Chile (1973-1990). Members composers of the Section Fernando García, Guillermo Rifo, Cirilo Vila, and Santiago Vera were nominated to take part in different committees of the recently created Ministry of Culture and the Section was invited to work more closely with the SCD (Society of Authors Rights), and influent organization in the Ministry. The issues open the way for important projects for the past, present and future of the Chilean music. Among the new projects which are being structured by the Chilean Section to be discussed in the Culture Ministry of Chile is the creation of a new orchestra specialized in contemporary and Chilean music. We may also mention that our next one-year-termed project to apply for State funding consists in a CD-ROM compilation of recordings, info and some scores of the Section to be distributed mainly in schools.

Unlike in the past, currently there are in Chile several running activities related to contemporary music. Four ensembles: Ensamble Contemporáneo (Universidad de Chile), Taller de Música Contemporánea (Universidad Católica), Ensamble Bártok (private project) and Ensamble Antara (Universidad Católica, Andean native aero-phones) specialize in new repertoire and participate in different festivals of contemporary music in Chile and other Latin American countries programming of Chilean composers and know foreign composers.


In addition in Chile there are three important festivals of contemporary music:

"Nueva Música", with national and international participants (composers and interpreters), circa 500 daily visitors, produced by the Universidad Católica and programmed for 7 days yearly in November. In the last version (14th version) there were works programmed by: Juan Pablo Abalo, Santiago Astaburuaga, Cristián Vásquez, Matías Troncoso, Pedro Alvarez, Luigi Nono, Aliosha Solovera, Felipe Hidalgo, Gabriel Matthey, Ramón Gorigoitía, Paola Lazo, Eduardo Cáceres, Jorge Springinsfeld, Rafael Díaz, Ricardo Nillni, Wolfgang Mitterer, Alexander Müllenbach, Dereico Schumacher, Arnold Schöenberg, Xavier Benguerel, Yoshihisa Taira, Pablo Aranda, Alejandro Guarello, Franco Donatoni, Cristián Morales, Fredrik Zeller, Charlotte Seither, Carola Bauckholt, Luciano Berio, Rodrigo Arriagada, Alvaro Nuñez, Gustavo Barrientos, Tomás Koljatic, Andrés Nuñez, Daniel Osorio, Miguel Angel Clerc, Bruno Maderna, Gabriel Galvez, Manuel Contreras, Fernando Rosas, Francisco Silva, Sebastian Jatz, Anselmo Ugarte, Mario Arenas, Luis Advis, Esteban Correa, Gustavo Becerra, Jerónimo Castro Sebastián Errázuriz, Fernando García, Frederic Patar, Jacopo Baboni, György Kúrtag, Giacomo Platinni, Philippe Hurel, Anton Webern, Alejandro Guarello, Rodrigo Arriagada, Boris Alvarado, Toru Takemitsu, György Ligeti, Emanuel nunes, Theo Brandmuller and Cirilo Vila.

"Festival de Música Chilena Contemporánea" with national and international participants (composers and interpreters), circa 200 daily visitors, produced by the Universidad de Chile and programmed for one week in January. In the last version (6th version) there were works programmed by: Carlos Botto, Mario Mora, Jean Aubain, Rodrigo Sigal, Gabriel Matthey, Roque Cordero, Keiko Abe, Celso Garrido-Lecca, Felix Carbone, Fernando Julio, Andrés González, Cristián Galarce, Sebastián Ramirez, Rafaelz Díaz, Felipe Rubio, Bryan Holmes, Valeria Valle, Cirilo Vila, Luciano Berio, Alfredo Votta, Eduardo Cáceres, Boris Alvarado, Graciela Paraskevaídis, Witold Lutoslawski, Corihún Aharonián, Oscar Carmona, Christián Pérez, Carlos Zamora, Jorge Martínez, Ramiro Molina, Steve Reich, José Carlos Campos, Guillermo Eisner, Edgardo Canton, Carlos Alberto Váasquez, Luis Advis, Mario Feito, Gustavo Becerra, Roberto Falabella, Francisco Concha, José Manuel Gatica, Pablo Délano and György Ligeti.

"Festival de Música Contemporánea VIPRO, produced by Universidad Vicente Pérez Rosales, with national participants, circa 100 daily visitors, programmed for one week in May. In the last version (3th version) there were works programmed by: Luciano Berio, Albang Berg, Miguel Aguilar, Arnold Schöenberg, Cristián Morales, Cirilo Vila, David Nuñez, Pablo Aranda, Francisco Silva, Gabriel Valverde, José Baudrand, Salvador Torre, Jorge Springinsfeld, Fernando García, Boris Alvarado, Anselmo Ugarte, Carlos Zamora, Sebastián Errázuriz, Eduardo Cáceres and Guillermo Riffo. The Universidad Vicente Pérez Rosales is currently organizing a National Competition for Chamber Music Works, the premiere of the winning composition will take place in May in the next Festival.

Oscar Carmona, Secretary Chilean Section




Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.