C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

2019_Prague Spring Festival 


Annual Report

  • Year: 
  • Please describe your organization’s activities over the past year, including concerts, commissions, collaborations, publications: 

    In 2019 Prague Spring Festival realized 51 concerts at 21 venues, invited 37 orchestras and choirs, 60 soloists and 19 conductors, 10 chamber ensembles from 19 conutries of the world. Highlights of the festival were concerts performed by the Bamberg Symphony under its Chief Conductor Jakub Hrůša, Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia under conductor Sir Antonio Pappano, New York’s Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, pianist Jan Lisiecki, Orquestra de Cadaqués, Les Arts Florissants, Ensemble Intercontemporain, Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, Czech Philharmonic with French conductor Louis Langrée, Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra with conductor John Nelson, Bennewitz Quartet and Theremin virtuoso Carolina Eyck.

    Contemporary music concert series included mainly the concerts of Ensemble Intercontemporain who played Magnus Lindberg - Corrente, Jörg Widmann - Freie Stücke, Bruno Mantovani - Cadenza n° 1 and Miroslav Srnka Overheating (European premiere) and Bohemia Saxophone Quartet who played Michael Nyman - 24 Hours Sax Quartet, Peter Graham: Veni Creator Spiritus, Michael Nyman: Out of the Ruins, Jana Vöröšová: Atlas mraků, Michael Nyman: Miniatures.

    The festival provided 3 commissions to Czech composers: Šimon Vosečk - Hypnos, performed by Prague Philharmonia with conductor Ben Glassberg, Jana Vöröšová - Atlas mraků for 4 Saxophones and accordion, performed by Bohemia Saxophone Quartet and Jakub Rataj - Aether for Theremin and string quartet played by Carolina Eyck and Bennewitz Quartet.
    Besides these commissioned pieces Ondřej Kukal’s harp concerto was also world premiered by harpist Kateřina Englichová with Ensemble 18+.



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.