C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface



Annual Report

  • Year: 
  • Please describe your organization’s activities over the past year, including concerts, commissions, collaborations, publications: 

    Composers Association of Serbia gives 4 awards:

    1. "Pavle Stefanović" for music critic and essay was awarded to musicologist Ana Kotevska
    2. "Aleksandar Pavlović" for promotion of Serbian music was awarded to piano player Neda Hofman and Construction Site ensemble
    3. "Darko Kraljić" for popular music was awarded to composer Vojkan Borisavljević
    4. "Mokranjac Award" bestowed to laurete Ivana Stefanović for composition Big stone, radiophonic poem. The award is given for the best work premiered during the previous year.

    27th International Review of Composers call for pieces was answered by 400 scores, 54 of which were selected for the programme was performed in eight concerts over five festival days. In addition to these works, composed over the last three years, the programme also included works by two eminent authors, Sofia Gubaidulina and Brian Ferneyhough, who, although coming from rather different poetics, have made a deep mark on 20th- and 21st-century music. The Festival also included pieces by a Finnish composer who is generationally close to them but not too well known in Serbia, Erkki Jokinen, as well as a work by Danish composer Poul Rovsing Olsen. The Review was opened with works for large chamber ensembles and string orchestra, while most of the programme comprises chamber works intended for various smaller ensembles, focusing especially on the duo as a specific medium, as well as works for solo instruments – by themselves or combined with electronics. The Belgrade Baroque ensemble was presented pieces written for baroque instruments. Seeking to encourage further writing and extend the repertory for this ensemble, there is a special focus on works for brass quintet. On this occasion, the selected quintets was performed by the BC Brass ensemble comprising musicians from Slovenia, Croatia, and Serbia, whose members have many years of experience in chamber and solo music-making, as well as in leading positions in some of the region’s most prestigious orchestras (the Belgrade, Zagreb, and Slovenian Philharmonic Orchestras). Review also included a concert by Hanan Hadžajlić, a doctoral student of flute at the Faculty of Music in Belgrade, her final doctoral project, featuring a selection of recent works for flute and electronics, including Mnemosyne, a composition for bass flute and tape by Brian Ferneyhough. Also, there was performances by the Metamorphosis and Construction Site ensembles, led by Ivan Marković, and many other prominent musicians dedicated to performing contemporary classical music.

    The programme was complemented with musicological analyses and presentations of works by Sofia Gubaidulina, Brian Ferneyhough, Erkki Jokinen, and Poul Rovsing Olsen, as well as a presentation of an edition of works by the composer Ivan Brkljačić.

    Composers Association of Serbia organised General Essembly ECSA and Creators Conference 17-19.09.2019. in Belgrade.

  • Please describe your organization's research activities over the past year: 
    The collaboration between the Composers’ Association of Serbia, the Music Action Centre, and Radio Belgrade 2 and 3 under the auspices of the project Novi muzički prostori (New Musical Spaces) continuous and during the 2018. We organised 10 musicological forums dedicated to works by Serbian composers. Each Forum had a special import and atmosphere, offering an insight into a work of music, a unique statement of a performer, and a segment of a composer’s poetics as well as personality, always maintaining a high level of dialogue with the panellists. Each Forum may be considered anthological and together, they will eventually form a precious treasure


Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.