C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface



Annual Report

  • Year: 
  • Please describe your organization’s activities over the past year, including concerts, commissions, collaborations, publications: 

    2018 was a year of transition for the AIC with a new coordinator and a reduced focus on concerts, beginning a process of repositioning the AIC as purely an advocacy body. Projects which went ahead included concerts, international projects and the New Music Journal. The organisation also continued to develop a number of new initiatives, including the new series of conversation and discussion events, an advocacy working group and finding ways to represent a wider range of compositional approaches and styles.

    Membership is now at 105, with more applications to be considered. We presented 15 events nationally, and 3 internationally. The AIC New Music Journal published 1 Article and 3 Shorts. We continue to increase our presence and impact on social media: Facebook likes have grown from 971 to 991; non-member mailing list subscriptions have risen slightly; and our Twitter followers number 657 (up from 580). We secured funding from a number of sources: €2,500 from IMRO towards running costs, €1,500 from Culture Ireland towards our international programming. We met our current gender-representation goal of 30% overall representation of female and female-identifying composers in events. Current membership balance is just below this figure (29.72%). We continued to work with our advocacy working group to be the voice of contemporary composers in Ireland.

    The AIC committee for 2018, as voted for at the AGM January 2018, was as follows:
    Michael Holohan – Chairman
    Muireann Ni Dhughbhaill - Coordinator
    Oliver Hynes – Treasurer
    Jenn Kirby – Web Manager
    Peter Moran – Journal Coordinator
    Martin O’Leary
    John McLachlan
    Enda Bates



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.