C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface



Annual Report

  • Year: 
  • Please describe your organization’s activities over the past year, including concerts, commissions, collaborations, publications: 

    A busy year saw increasing activity on Ty Cerdd's new ventures in publishing and recording: in excess of 40 individual titles were added to our Ty Cerdd Publications catalogue, featuring works by living Welsh composers (including Rhian Samuel), and a full-time publishing officer was appointed in March 2016; a wealth of recording activity included sessions with Ensemble Midtvest recording music by John Metcalf (to be released on Ty Cerdd records in 2018), and the release of a CD of music by 20th-century Welsh composer Morfydd Owen. Promoting these commercial activities, as well as its broader remit, Ty Cerdd took a stand at the National Eisteddfod in Abergavenny in August 2016, alongside fellow music publisher Curiad.

    The partnership with the National Library of Wales was consolidated, and information on Welsh composers and archive manuscripts were added to - Ty Cerdd's important tool in raising the profile of and accesst to Welsh music.

    Gwyn L Williams retired in November 2016, and Ty Cerdd welcomed new director Deborah Keyser, a graduate of Cardiff University School of Music, who has worked across music and performing arts organisations, most recently as director of Creu Cymru, the development agency for theatres and arts centres in Wales.

    Our members' conference took place in March 2016, where we collaborated with the Bangor Music Festival to promote a range of events, including a discussion on women composers; Hilary Tann, Mared Emlyn, Sarah Lianne Lewis, Lynne Plowman, Steph Power and Rhian Samuel participated.

    Five new strands of Lottery grants (two of which focus on supporting composers) funded new commissions by 11 composers: Gareth Glyn, Gareth Moorcraft, John Metcalf, Owain Llwyd, Sarah Lianne Lewis, Gareth Alubumni Hughes, Jeffrey Howard, Guto Puw, Steph Power, Ashley John Long and James Clarke.

    Ty Cerdd's five national youth ensembles (National Youth Choir, Training Choir, Brass Band, Training Band, and Wind Orchestra of Wales) performed across Wales in programmes including contemporary repertoire, with featured composer Mervyn Burtch. With support from the Colwinston Foundation, we commissioned Rhian Samuel (ready for her role as 2017 composer-in-residence with the youth ensembles) to write works for wind orchestra and brass band.

    In April 2016 we led a Welsh delegation to the European Brass Band Championship (EBBC) in Lille, where two Welsh youth bands and one main, community brass band competed.



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.