C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface



Annual Report

  • Year: 
  • Please describe your organization’s activities over the past year, including concerts, commissions, collaborations, publications: 

    Report to ISCM on the activities of the Composers Association of New Zealand in 2013
    prepared by Glenda Keam (President, CANZ)

    The Composers Association of New Zealand (CANZ) is a network of composers who represent and provide professional development opportunities for composers in New Zealand. A voluntary committee of up to nine members meets twice per year, and the organisation holds an Annual General Meeting in one of the main cities. The Association maintains a website, produces a bi-monthly electronic newsletter and a retrospective yearbook, holds an annual composers workshop, advocates for NZ music where this is called for, and provides other professional development opportunities. This report covers activities and news through 2013.

    In February 2013, CANZ held its Annual General Meeting in Christchurch. The meeting included a celebration and awards presentation: the CANZ Trust Fund for compositional promise and achievement was presented to Alex Taylor, the KBB Music / CANZ Citation for Services to NZ Music was awarded to clarinettist and Artistic Manager of the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra Gretchen La Roche, and a very special Honorary Membership was awarded to our senior member Professor John Ritchie in honour of his significant musical achievements and activities over many years. Professor Ritchie spoke warmly of his involvement with the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra (CSO), and his many years composing, teaching composition, and leading the School of Music at the University of Canterbury. His son Anthony Ritchie, also a renowned New Zealand composer and academic, was present at the award as were his siblings.

    The AGM and Awards events took place in the rehearsal rooms of the CSO, which – like many spaces in the earthquake-torn city – is a repurposed space not originally designed for this purpose. The orchestra frequently performs in the Airforce Museum due to the loss of the Town Hall and other major performing venues, and the rehearsal rooms and office occupy a unit in a large industrial estate surrounded by factories and small-medium industry sites.

    In July 2013 CANZ’ annual Composing Workshop in the small South Island city of Nelson again brought together young and emerging composers with our more experienced composers and performers. Organised by Anthony Young and Louise Webster, the workshop provided its familiar and intense mix of facilitated workshop performances of new works, works-in-progress, discussion forums, mentoring sessions, and a public concert. Shifting from its usual Sunday-Thursday pattern, the workshop ran from Thursday to Monday, which offered us the chance to experience Nelson on a Saturday with its outdoor market and weekend energy.

    CANZ continues to work towards closer collaboration and complementary activities with SOUNZ (which represents NZ music) and CANZ (which is the composer network). In 2013 SOUNZ shared with CANZ partial responsibility for New Zealand’s participation in Modart 2013, which is a biannual series of workshops and performance opportunities for a handful of composers to work with Australia’s impressive ‘Song Company’. Celeste Oram participated as the NZ representative, and impressed the Australian organisers who described her as a thoughtful and individual creative voice.

    Our bi-monthly e-newsletter Canzonetta was edited throughout 2013 by committee members Mary Binney and Alex Taylor, and the website managed by Phil Brownlee. The 2013 SOUNZ Contemporary Award was won by our member Karlo Margetic for his piano trio Lightbox, the other finalists being Michael Norris (Timedance for two violins, cello, piano, electronics and film) and Chris Gendall (Triple Concerto for piano trio).

    The ISCM World Music Days in November were held in two Slovakian cities Kosice and Bratislava, and in Vienna, where a performance of our member Neville Hall's work lifeless air has become sinewed was performed expertly by the Austrian group Ensemble Reconsil in Vienna’s famous Konzerthaus. I attended the festival as the NZ delegate, and participated in all of the General Assembly forums as well as the two-day energised symposium on the topic of Intercultural Modernity. Ensemble Reconsil has already expressed interest in performing New Zealand music, and this particular event has further cemented the relationship.

    CANZ is also a long-standing member of the Asian Composers League, which held its September 2013 festival in Singapore, where Reuben Jelleyman attended as NZ’s Young Composer. Other New Zealand works performed were David Hamilton’s Art Song Canticle 5 and Dame Gillian Whitehead’s string quartet No stars, not even clouds, and Samuel Holloway attended as chief delegate on behalf of CANZ.
    Looking at the three recurring NZ composer residencies that are offered annually, in 2013 the composer appointed to be in residence at the Lilburn Residence in Wellington (former home of the late Douglas Lilburn) was Jeroen Speak, who returned for the year from London, and was accompanied by his wife - composer and long-standing CANZ member Dorothy Ker who also embraced the opportunity to be back here in her home country. Normally working at the University of Sheffield, Dorothy is currently a Visiting Scholar at the NZ School of Music. The Composer-in-Residence for the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra in 2013 was Ken Young. Samuel Holloway spent 2013 as the Mozart Fellow in Dunedin, our longest standing composer residency.



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.